Building distinctive, healthy homes today with tomorrow in mind

Meet the crew

Sauter Builders was established in 1995. We take great pride in our commitment to building distinctive homes for our clients that are comfortable, resource and energy efficient - a home that they can be proud of for generations. We achieve our high quality standards with the expertise and integrity of a great group of individuals. We invite you to get to know them.


Charlie Sauter

In 1978, Charlie's young entrepreneurial spirit led him to start "Sauter Home Improvement and Repair" in his hometown of Lindstrom, Minnesota.

A key moment occurred in 1986, when Charlie had the opportunity to work on a new home project in the Twin Cities with a company called The Swedish Housing Group. It was here that he was exposed to Swedish building methods that highlighted energy efficiency, indoor air quality, and durability.

While in the Cities, Charlie became an accomplished musician, having honed his bass-playing skills as a first-call bassist in the Minneapolis music market, playing jazz, R&B, and rock with many regionally well known artists.

Charlie attributes much of his enthusiasm for design to his passion for playing music. He appreciates the artistic nature and unique issues inherent in both music and home design.

Charlie and his family moved to the beautiful Northwoods of Wisconsin, founding Sauter Builders in 1995 with the goal of pursuing a similar tradition of quality home construction Charlie had seen in The Swedish Housing Group and to continue to build on his passion of designing and building distinctive homes. 

Colin Lawrence




Chris McFarland

Having spent most of his work life as a cranberry grower, Chris brings his farming work ethic and problem solving skills to the Sauter Builders team. Father of five, and grandfather of five (including twins), home building, for Chris, is a way to help other families to live in a home that will bring them enjoyment and health for many generations to come.

Adam Linnemann




Lance Powalisz


John Hansen




Peter Lawrence